Renewable Energy Rebate Program (New Hampshire)
(Redirected from NH PUC - Renewable Energy Rebate Program (New Hampshire))
Last modified on February 12, 2015.
Financial Incentive Program
|Place|| New Hampshire
|Name||Renewable Energy Rebate Program|
|Incentive Type||State Rebate Program|
|Eligible Technologies||Photovoltaics, Wind|
|Energy Category||Renewable Energy Incentive Programs|
|Amount|| 0.75/watt DC
|Eligible System Size||10 kW or less|
|Equipment Requirements||PV systems must be UL 1703 certified; all equipment must be new. Inverters must comply with IEEE 1547 and UL 1741.|
|Expiration Date|| Not specified |
The date "Not specified" was not understood.
|Funding Source||Renewable Portfolio Standard (RPS) alternative compliance payments|
|Installation Requirements|| Must comply with State Building Code and National Electric Code 2008
|Maximum Incentive||3,750 or 50% of system costs, whichever is less|
|Ownership of Renewable Energy Credits|| Not specified
|Program Budget|| $1,290,641 for FY 2013
|Program Administrator||New Hampshire Public Utilities Commission|
|References||DSIREDatabase of State Incentives for Renewables and Efficiency|
New Hampshire enacted legislation (H.B. 1628) in July 2008 requiring the state's Public Utilities Commission (PUC) to establish and administer a rebate program for certain renewable-energy systems. There are two steps involved in the rebate-application process. Step one is a pre-approval application; step two is the final application. Both steps are required to receive the incentive. Rebates are awarded on a first-come, first-served basis.
The rebate is equal to $0.75 per watt of nominal generation capacity per residential owner of an eligible facility, up to $3,750 or 50% of system costs, whichever is less. Photovoltaic (PV) systems must have a peak generation capacity of 10 kilowatts (kW) or less, must be located at the owner's residence, and must be certified as meeting UL 1703 by a nationally-recognized testing laboratory. Small wind turbines must have a manufacturer's rated maximum output of 10 kW (at wind speed of 11 m/s) and be located at the owner's residence. If there is no rated capacity at that speed, the closest speed at which the manufacturer rates the output will be considered. No roof-top systems will be accepted, and the average wind speed at the site should be at least 10 miles per hour. All wind turbines must be mounted at least 30 feet above any obstruction within 500-foot radius. Both grid-tied and off-grid systems are eligible. Equipment must meet applicable safety standards, and facilities must meet local zoning regulations. (Solar hot water systems are not eligible; the PUC has established a separate solar water-heating incentive program.)
This program is funded by alternative compliance payments from the state's renewable portfolio standard (RPS). Customers of municipal utilities are not eligible because municipal utilities are exempt from the RPS. Notarized applications must be submitted in paper-copy format; no electronically submitted applications will be accepted. Rebates will be awarded to the extent that funding is available.
|Contact Name||Jon Osgood|
|Department||New Hampshire Public Utilities Commission|
|Address||21 South Fruit Street|
|Address 2||Suite 10|
|Place||Concord, New Hampshire|
|Phone|| (603) 271-6306
Authorities (Please contact the if there are any file problems.)
|Authority 1:||New Hampshire Statutes, Chapter 362-F:10|
|Date Enacted|| 7/11/2008 (subsequently amended)
|Authority 2:||New Hampshire PUC Order 24.985|
|Date Enacted|| 2009-07-14
|Authority 3:||New Hampshire PUC Order 25.020|
|Date Enacted|| 2009-10-02
- Incentive and policy data are reviewed and approved by the N.C. Solar Center's DSIRE project staff.
- "Database of State Incentives for Renewables and Efficiency" Cite error: Invalid
<ref>tag; name "DSIRE" defined multiple times with different content